The legendary Yoko Ono won the lifetime achievement award at this year’s Mojo Magazine awards,
held at The Brewery in London on June 11, 2009.

The award was the final award of the night and saw an emotional speech from Ono in response to a tribute film shown at the awards and a speech by Mojo editor Phil Alexander, who commented:

“Yoko Ono helped change music as we know it….first by introducing avant-garde sensibilities to her husband and secondly, just as significantly, by continuing to push the boundaries of what was deemed the normal way after that. She is a huge influence on modern music and this award recognizes her inspirational qualities and ongoing questing. Yoko Ono is unique and we are thrilled to commemorate her lifetime on the frontline”.

The Mojo award comes in a week when Ono topped the US club charts for the fifth time, this time with her song I’m Not Getting Enough, and also received the prestigious Golden Lion award for lifetime achievement at the Venice Biennale.


The legendary Yoko Ono won the lifetime achievement award at this years Mojo Magazine awards, held in London on June 11. Photo by Gareth Cattermole

On accepting the Mojo award, Ono said:

“Thank you very much for this incredible accolade. I feel blessed that, after so many years and decades, my work is getting recognition in such a diverse way. John would have been very proud of me tonight. Thank you!”


Sky News

On Sunday, Yoko Ono Plastic Ono Band make their debut UK performance at the Royal Festival Hall in London, as part of Ornette Coleman’s Meltdown. This performance will feature appearances by guest artists including Ornette Coleman, Antony Hegarty and Mark Ronson.
Yoko Ono Plastic Ono Band includes Sean Lennon, Cornelius and Yuka Honda.

Yoko Ono Plastic Ono Band: “DON’T STOP ME!”
New 4 Track EP, out now at the iTunes Music Store.


ONO: “I’m Not Getting Enough” (2009 Remixes)
recently #1 on the Billboard Hot Dance Club Play Chart
are out now, available at the iTunes Music Store.

Yoko Ono Plastic Ono Band are featured on Chimera Music Release No. 0.
along with Chimera artists Sean Lennon, The GOASTT, If By Yes, and Kemp & Eden.
More info at:
Out now, also available at the iTunes Music Store.

Yoko Ono Plastic Ono Band: “BETWEEN MY HEAD AND THE SKY”

Waiting For The D Train (2:46)
The Sun Is Down! (4:49)
Ask The Elephant! (2:57)
Memory of Footsteps (3:30)
Moving Mountains (3:00)
CALLING (8:15)
Healing (4:25)
Hashire, Hashire (3:35)
Feel The Sand (6:02)
Watching The Rain (5:30)
Unun. To (3:16)
I’m Going Away Smiling (2:53)
Higa Noboru (5:44)
I’m Alive (0:22)

New studio album will be released on September 21, 2009 on Sean Lennon’s label, Chimera Music.

Cover 114 Cover 186
More coverage of the MOJO  Honours List 2009 here.