An iTunes exclusive digital 4 song (22 minute) mini-album
will be released on 9 June 2009 on Chimera Music.
Track listing:
01 The Sun Is Down! (Cornelius Mix)
02 Ask the Elephant!
03 Feel the Sand
It’s a taster of…


A 15 song CD and 2 LP record
to be released in September 2009, also on Chimera Music.
Track listing and artwork coming soon…


YOKO ONO Plastic Ono Band: Between My Head And The Sky album

From Fluxus and performance-art pioneer and Two Virgins to chart-topping dance-music heroine (inspiring punk rock along the way!), Yoko Ono has been an innovative and influential force on music and art, while simultaneously campaigning for peace on the world’s stage. At 76 years young, Yoko continues to kick ass — and is preparing to release BETWEEN MY HEAD AND THE SKY, a career-defining album made with her new Plastic Ono Band. The record is a gorgeous, mind-melting blend of styles, restating and sharpening themes while plunging into the always-mysterious future.

The sessions happened at NYC’s Sear Sound, the same studio that used to house the old Hit Factory, where Double Fantasy was recorded. Sean Lennon produced the sessions with Yoko and acted as musical leader for a group evenly divided between Japanese avant pop musicians, and downtown Manhattan improvisers. In the former category was Yuka Honda of Cibo Matto, and the current group led by Keigo “Cornelius” Oyamada – Yuko Araki and Hirotaka Shimmy Shimizu. Ms. Ono had been so happy with a performance they’d done together in Tokyo in January, she invited them to New York to record. In the latter category we find Shahzad Ismaily, Erik Friedlander, Michael Leonhart, Daniel Carter and Indigo Street, a group of brilliant instrumentalists.

As Sean says, “Yoko unleashed a deluge of new songs, writing about 16 songs in 6 days, the most prolific day peaking out at 6 songs written and tracked in an afternoon. The recording session was like a tornado of inspiration. Some of the best lyrics on the record Yoko actually ‘freestyled’ as if she were a lyrical divining rod.”

The results are pretty amazing..


Chimera Music
Yoko Ono on MySpace

Yoko Ono on FaceBook

Pitchfork Media

New Yoko Ono EP Announced

Don’t Stop Me! out June 9 via Chimera Music.
by Ryan Dombal, Pitchfork, 28 May 2009

Yoko Ono‘s upcoming album with the Plastic Ono Band, dubbed Between My Head and the Sky and out in September, is looking like yet another avant garde equivalent of Santana’s guest-laden comeback album Supernatural. (Ono’s 2007 record Yes I’m a Witch included collaborations with the likes of Cat Power, Spiritualized, and Le Tigre.) But instead of Rob Thomas and Michelle Branch, Ono got her son Sean Lennon, Cornelius, Yuka Honda of Cibo Matto, and a group of NYC improv artists to help her out.

Before the record drops, we’ll get an enticing sample in the form of a new four-song iTunes exclusive EP called Don’t Stop Me! out June 9 on Chimera Music.

In other recent Yoko news, the singer/philosopher/artist is set to perform with Ornette Coleman, Antony Hegarty, Cornelius, and Mark Ronson at this year’s Meltdown Festival in London on June 14.

Don’t Stop Me! EP:
01 The Sun Is Down! (Cornelius Mix)
02 Ask the Elephant!
03 Feel the Sand


Yoko Ono lines up star-studded cast for new album

She recruits son Sean Lennon and Cornelius
May 28, 2009, NME

Yoko Ono has once again recruited a star-studded list of contributors to help out on her new album, which is due out in the US this autumn.

Titled ‘Between My Head And The Sky’, the album features Sean Lennon (her son with John Lennon), Cornelius and Yuka Honda of Cibo Matto, among others. It is due out in the US in September.

Contributors to her 2007 album ‘Yes I’m A Witch’ included The Flaming Lips, Spiritualized and Cat Power.

Meanwhile, Ono is set to release a four-song sampler EP titled ‘Don’t Stop Me!’ via US iTunes on June 9, reports Pitchfork and confirmed by Ono’s publicist.

The EP tracklisting is:

1. ‘The Sun Is Down!’ (Cornelius Mix)
2. ‘Ask the Elephant!’
3. ‘Feel the Sand’

–By our Los Angeles staff.