Release Date: December 11, 1968
Label: London
Length: 63:00


THE ROLLING STONES ROCK AND ROLL CIRCUS documents a December 1968 show, originally intended for broadcast on British television, that featured clowns, acrobats, tigers, a fire-eater, the Rolling Stones and a menagerie of musician friends that included the Who, Eric Clapton, John Lennon and Yoko Ono. The show never aired. The Stones, unhappy with their performance, shelved it. A clip of the Who performing “A Quick One While He’s Away” made it into the documentary “The Kids Are Alright”, but the rest of the show remained on the shelf until the 1996 release of a laser disc, video, and this soundtrack.
The Stones put together this circus shortly after releasing BEGGAR’S BANQUET. Ringmaster/producer Mick Jagger recruited the above friends along with Marianne Faithfull, Taj Mahal and the relatively-unknown Jethro Tull. Twenty hours of filming resulted in a production that alternates between vaudevillian spectacle and magical rock and roll performances. Especially noteworthy is a blistering version of the Beatles’ “Yer Blues” by the Dirty Mac, a supergroup featuring John Lennon on rhythm guitar and vocals, Eric Clapton on lead, Keith Richards on bass and Mitch Mitchell on drums.
The Stones went on at 1 in the morning on December 11, performing a set that included several songs from BEGGAR’S BANQUET and the not-yet-released “You Can’t Always Get What You Want”, sometimes playing a song two or three times to get it right for TV. Despite the numerous takes and the late hour, theStones’ intensity never flagged. This is, despite what theythought, a great performance. It builds up to a hypnotic “Sympathy For The Devil” and a rousing sing-along version of “Salt Of The Earth” that ends the circus.

Track Listing

1 Mick Jagger: Introduction of Rock & Roll Circus
2 The Rolling Stones: Entry of the Gladiators
3 Mick Jagger: Introduction to Jethro Tull
4 Jethro Tull: Song for Jeffrey
5 Keith Richards: Introduction of the Who
6 The Who: A Quick One, While He’s Away
7 The Rolling Stones: Over the Waves
8 Taj Mahal: Ain’t That a Lot of Love
9 Charlie Watts: Introduction of Marianne Faithfull
10 Marianne Faithfull & Charlie Watts: Something Better
11 Mick Jagger & John Lennon: Introduction of Dirty Mac
12 Dirty Mac: Yer Blues 
13 Dirty Mac, Irvy Gitlis, Yoko Ono: Whole Lotta Yoko 
14 John Lennon: Introduction of the Rolling Stones/Jumpin’ Jack Flash
15 The Rolling Stones: Parachute Woman
16 The Rolling Stones: No Expectations
17 The Rolling Stones: You Can’t Always Get What You Want
18 The Rolling Stones: Sympathy for the Devil
19 The Rolling Stones: Salt of the Earth