YOKO ONO PLASTIC ONO BAND, formed by John Lennon and Yoko Ono before the dissolution of the Beatles, joins Polaris Music Prize Winner Owen Pallett, synth siren Glasser and Bristol’s Zun Zun Egui on this year’s Iceland Airwaves line-up.

The festival, which runs from 12-16 of October in Reykjavík, also sees more Icelandic additions, including GusGus, For a Minor Reflection, Kippi Kaninus and Mógil. Among those already announced for the festival are hometown girl Björk and The Line of Best Fit favourites Niki & the Dove and Beach House

For ticket details, check out the Iceland Airwaves website.


For this performance, YOKO ONO PLASTIC ONO BAND will include Yoko Ono, Sean Lennon, Charlotte Kemp Muhl (Ghost Of A Saber Tooth Tiger), Yuka Honda (Cibo Matto), Nels Cline (Wilco), C.J. Camerieri (Bon Iver), Yuko Araki (Mi-Gu), Hirotaka “Shimmy” Shimizu (Cornelius group).


Chimera Music Presents:


  • 22:50 mi-gu (JP)
  • 21:50 Consortium Musicum (US)
  • 21:10 Fig (US)
  • 20:00 The Ghost Of A Saber Tooth Tiger (US)

  • Date: Thursday October 13th
    Location: HARPA NORÐURLJÓS, Ingólfsgarður, Reykjavik, Iceland

    View Larger Map

    About YOKO ONO

    From her pioneering work in the Fluxus movement of the 1960s to the recent Imagine Peace Tower in Reykjavik, Ono’s art has challenged and informed, melding the personal to the universal in simple and unique ways.  In 2009, she received Mojo Magazine’s Lifetime Achievement Award, and she assembled a new PLASTIC ONO BAND for her latest album, Between My Head And The Sky, co-produced with son Sean Lennon, on his Chimera Music label.




    Agent Fresco , Austra, Beach House, Benny Crespo’s Gang, Berndsen , Dale Earnhardt Jr Jr, De Staat, Deathcrush, Dope D.O.D., Dungen, Elephant Stone, Endless Dark, For a Minor Reflection, Friðrik Dór, Futuregrapher, Glasser, Hljómsveitin Ég, Hoffman, Honningbarna, JD McPherson, Jenny Hval, John Grant, John Grant, Just Another Snake Cult , K-X-P, Karkwa, Kippi Kaninus, Kira Kira, Liturgy, Matthew Hemerlein, Megas og Senuþjófarnir, Mógil, Murmansk, Niki & the Dove, NOLO, Oculus , Of Monsters and Men, Ólafur Arnalds , Ólöf Arnalds, Other Lives, Owen Pallett, Oy, Páll Óskar, Pascal Pinon, Retro Stefson, Samaris, SBTRKT, Secret Chiefs 3, Sin Fang, Sizarr, Snorri Helgason, sóley, SUUNS, Swords of Chaos, Sykur, Team Me, Ter Haar, The Vaccines, The Vintage Caravan, The Violet May, Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs, Touchy Mob, Treefight For Sunlight, tUnE-yArDs, Útidúr, Valdimar, Vicky, Who Knew, Wistaria, Yoda Remote, Yoko Ono Plastic Ono Band, Young Galaxy, Zebra and Snake, Zun Zun Egui.